2020 SWPL Cup – Group Stage Draw

The draw for the 2020 SWPL Cup Group stage will be conducted at Hampden Park on Saturday 25th of January. You can watch the draw back below:

For the 2020 competition, a Group Stage will replace the previous First Round. This was approved as part of the Senior Consultation process during the 2019 season. You can find out more about this process by clicking here.

The Group Stage draw will feature 16 of the 18 SWPL teams. Glasgow City and Hibernian both automatically go into the Quarter-Final draw. This is due to them finishing first and second in SWPL 1 respectively for the 2019 season.

The Group Stage draw is seeded accordingly:


1. Celtic
2. Forfar Farmington
3. Hamilton Academical
4. Heart of Midlothian
5. Motherwell
6. Rangers
7. Spartans
8. Stirling University


9. Aberdeen
10. Boroughmuir Thistle
11. Dundee United
12. Glasgow Women
13. Kilmarnock
14. Partick Thistle
15. Queen’s Park
16. St Johnstone

The seeded sides are the teams that finished 3rd to 8th in SWPL 1 in 2019 and the two teams finishing 1st and 2nd in SWPL 2 in 2019. The unseeded sides are the remaining SWPL 2 teams and the three newly promoted teams.

Each group will consist of four teams, two that are seeded and two that are unseeded. The draw will have the eight seeded teams drawn first, followed by the eight unseeded teams.

There are six available places in the Quarter-Final of the 2020 SWPL Cup. The top team in each of the four groups will automatically enter the Quarter-Final. The two best placed runners-up in each group will also advance. This will be determined on the basis of points, then goal difference, then goals scored.

All remaining teams, bar the two lowest placed sides finishing bottom of their group (determind on the same basis as above), will enter the Quarter-Final of the newly created SWPL Plate.

The fixtures for the Group Stage of the 2020 SWPL Cup will be played on the following dates:

  • Sunday 9th February
  • Sunday 16th February
  • Sunday 1st March

The Group Stage matches will be played as follows:

Group Game 1 – 9th February 2020

 Spartans v St Johnstone Hamilton Academical v Dundee United Heart of Midlothian v Boroughmuir Thistle Motherwell v Partick Thistle
Celtic v Glasgow Women Rangers v Queen’s Park Stirling University v Aberdeen FC Women Forfar Farmington v Kilmarnock


Group Game 2 – 16th February 2020

St Johnstone v Celtic Dundee United v Rangers Boroughmuir Thistle v Stirling University Partick Thistle v Forfar Farmington
Glasgow Women v Spartans Queen’s Park v Hamilton Academical Aberdeen FC Women v Heart of Midlothian Kilmarnock v Motherwell


Group Game 3 – 1st March 2020

Spartans v Celtic Hamilton Academical v Rangers Heart of Midlothian v Stirling University Motherwell v Forfar Farmington
St Johnstone v Glasgow Women Dundee United v Queen’s Park Boroughmuir Thistle v Aberdeen FC Women Partick Thistle v Kilmarnock


More News

Our Official Partners